• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

where to get better shocks

zack24

i would like to get better bounce on big jumps so i need better shocks ,,,,post websites for shocks

alfred e numan

swap valve bodies?

yea, i am new to this 1/5 too- i gotta wonder though, will the valve bodies from HPI 5B SS fit into XB buggy shocks?- DDM had a bunch of stuff on sale- 4 spring loaded ball bearing blow off valve bodies- there was another interesting aftermarket design- a convex rubber body backed with a convex washer- gobs of bleed area- The hpi oem and after market stuff is the 350 chevy of the r-c world- massive amounts of hop-ups - any experts out there with fresh ideas to adapt to the redcats???? even "rube goldburg " ideas are welcome on this topic!!

DemonRC

The best shocks I've used so far are the MCD shocks on the V4. They are big bore compared to the HPI/Redcat/FG shocks. I've retrofitted them to my FG 4x4 by putting FG shock ends on the shaft and they ran fine. I've put them back onto the MCD and haven't tried it on the XB or XBE since I'm somewhat fond if the X series shocks. I will try it once I get some custom shocktowers built to clear the larger adjustment ring on the MCD shocks.

Personally, I'd just stick to the stock shocks. They are smooth and hold a seal very well. You're not going to get anything better by upgrading to Baja shocks other than the ability to stick aftermarket shafts on them or shock tops. It's not a good bang for the buck in my opinion. You could always pick up 4x MT/TT V3 fronts for much cheaper which are compatible with HPI shock parts if you really want.

alfred e numan

thanks-