• Welcome to RedcatRampageForum! Are you a Redcat fan? If so you're in luck as you've have arrived to the biggest and best RedcatRampage RC community.

Come join our community and ask your questions, show off your Recat RCs and share your experience!

Upgrades 4 dummies

Ice_2k

Hi guys,

I'm the soon-to-be proud owner of a 32cc Dunerunner (I should get it around february 20th, thanks Rob for hooking me up :D ).

I am not new to R/C but I am new to 5th scale and gas engines (actually any kind of termic engines, I only had electrics until now). I want to start upgrading my DR and make it as badass and as reliable as possible, however I am seeing a lot of upgrades listed by you guys and some of them I have no idea what are good for and I'm guessing all noobies might find themselves in this situation.

As such, I though it would be useful to have a thread where the guys with more experience can better explain what each upgrade does and when you should use it.

So, here's my list:

1. "8000 rpm clutch" - I know what the clutch does, but what does this upgrade achieve? Better durability? Anything else? What does the "8000 rpm" signify? What happens at that rpm? How many rpm is the standard clutch?
  2. "tank vent kit" - why is this necessary? what does it achieve?
  3. "intake manifold" - ditto
  4. "carburator" - I saw someone mention that carbs without choke levers can be started by "manually choking" with a plastic bag. Does anyone have a youtube link or some pictures of how this works? A WT990 carb is definetely on my todo list but I don't want to have problems starting it, especially in the cold.
  5. "air filter" - I know this is a common upgrade for normal cars, but I didn't see anyone mention it for 5th scale R/Cs. Is this not an upgrade that is usually done for these engines?

I think that's about it for now, if anyone else has any ideas of some upgrades that could use explaining, feel free to add it :)

Last edited by a moderator:

BertR